LT celebrates the Texarkana Museum Systems Board of Directors for creating an Awards for Historic Preservation and Awareness of Local History – to honor as examples and inspiration to other individuals in our community, each of whom can make a difference in our community by stepping up to lead the way in sharing and celebrating our unique community history! The new award categories lift up individuals, organizations and projects whose contributions demonstrate significant achievement in preserving the heritage of Bowie and Miller counties.  


Alec Rommel – Young Historian Award

Dr. Tom Wagy – Collegiate Excellence Award

The Jamison Family – Multi-Cultural Excellence Award

Bill Wisley – the Social Butterfly Award

Aaron Brand – Power of the Pen Award

Steve Mitchell of KTXK Radio – Broadcast Media Award

Diana and Judge Josh Morriss, III – Historic Site Preservation Award

The Orr School – Endangered Treasure Award

Mary Collom Fore – Historic Collections Award

Eddie Shuffield – Wilbur Smith Archivist Medallion 

Congratulations to the TMS Board and to all inaugural honorees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *